Proposals
Rootconf Hyderabad edition

Rootconf Hyderabad edition

On SRE, systems engineering and distributed systems

Rootconf

Rootconf is a platform for SRE, DevOps, security and InfoSec developers and cloud operators. We bring the community together through talks, workshops and events.

T-Hub, Hyderabad

Call for proposals

We are accepting talks on the following topics:

  1. Monitoring, logging and alerting – running small-scale and large-scale systems
  2. Optimizing infrastructure
  3. Automating infrastructure management
  4. Infrastructure as code
  5. Micro-services – including costs of micro-services and success metrics
  6. Case studies of shift from batch processing to stream processing
  7. Real-life examples of service discovery
  8. SRE war stories

Types and duration of talks:

  1. Full talks: 40 mins duration including Q&A
  2. Crisp talks: 20 mins duration including Q&A
  3. Birds of Feather (BOF) sessions of 1 hour duration
  4. Hands-on workshops, of 3-6 hour duration.

You can also suggest a topic for someone else to speak/teach a workshop. If we find a speaker/trainer for the topic you proposed, we will send you a Rootconf t-shirt.

Participant profile for Rootconf Hyderabad will include:

  1. SRE
  2. Distributed systems practitioners
  3. Network engineers
  4. DevOps programmers
  5. Security and DevSecOps professionals

This profile will help you to understand who will be the audience for your talk, and therefore, how you should structure you talk and takeaways.

We don’t accept:

  1. How-to and introductory-level talks.
  2. Tooling talks without a clear problem statement. Instead, tell us what problems the tool solves for you, and why you advocate community members to use the tool.
  3. Proposals where source code is closed or where you cannot reveal code and implementation details.

Guidelines for submitting proposals for Rootconf Hyderabad:

  1. Write the proposal in gender neutral language. Use the words ‘they/them’ instead of ‘he/she’.
  2. Explain the problem you are solving when submitting a proposal. We give weightage to novelty of problems and problem-solving approaches.
  3. Focus on narrowing down what the audience will learn from your talk. The best way to do this is by putting yourself in the audience’s shoes: what do you want to learn (that will make you a better practitioner) if you were in the audience listening to your own talk?
  4. Provide implementation details. But the implementation details – code samples, architecture approach, etc – in the context of the larger problem you are solving.
  5. Never lose sight of the problem!

Note that reviews will carried out on the proposal pages only, as comments. Proposers must check their proposals for new comments, and to respond to earlier comments.

Passes and honorarium for speakers:

We pay an honorarium of Rs. 3,000 to speakers. Confirmed speakers also get a pass to the conference and a discount code which they can share with their colleagues, communities they are part of, and on social media channels. We do not provide free passes for speakers’ colleagues and spouses. Please don’t ask us for this.

Travel grants for outstation speakers:

Travel grants are available for international and domestic speakers based on the event’s budget. If you require a grant, mention it in the field where you add your location.

Last date for submission is 30 September, 11:59 PM

If you have queries, write to rootconf.editorial@hasgeek.com

All proposals

Confirmed sessions

Consensus problem in Distributed Systems

Geethanjali Eswaran (@geethanjalieswaran)

  • 3 comments
  • Tue, 3 Sep

Taming Infrastructure Workflow at Scale

Anubhav Mishra (@anubhavmishra)

  • 2 comments
  • Mon, 26 Aug

Vault on Kubernetes hand-on

Anubhav Mishra (@anubhavmishra)

  • 0 comments
  • Mon, 26 Aug

Achieving repeatable, extensible and self serve infrastructure at Gojek

Tasdik Rahman (@tasdikrahman-gojek)

  • 2 comments
  • Thu, 22 Aug

Observability and Control Theory

Piyush Verma (@meson10)

  • 0 comments
  • Sun, 18 Aug

Supporting utf8 characters in a utf8 mysql table

Ritikesh (@ritikesh)

  • 4 comments
  • Wed, 14 Aug

Demystifying AIOps

Jayesh Bapu Ahire (@jbahire) via Zainab Bawa (@zainabbawa)

  • 1 comments
  • Wed, 7 Aug

Scaling hotstar.com for 25 million concurrent viewers

Gaurav Kamboj (@gauravkamboj)

  • 2 comments
  • Fri, 26 Jul

Deploying and Managing CSP - the Browser-side Firewall

Lavakumar Kuppan (@lavakumark) via Zainab Bawa (@zainabbawa)

  • 0 comments
  • Mon, 22 Jul

Designing microservices around your data design

Jambunathan V R (@jambunathan)

  • 5 comments
  • Thu, 6 Jun

Dashboards as Code

Sanooj Mananghat (@sanoojm)

  • 12 comments
  • Mon, 27 May

Fast object distribution using P2P

Ankur Jain (@ankurj11)

  • 10 comments
  • Fri, 10 May

Unconfirmed proposals

Deploy to Production without Testing..!!

Vasanth Pandian (@vasanthpandian)

  • 0 comments
  • Mon, 30 Sep

Solving Authentication and Authorisation on kubernetes using Adapters in Istio

Adheip Singh (@adheipsingh)

  • 0 comments
  • Wed, 18 Sep

Service Mesh: Beyond the Hype

Anubhav Mishra (@anubhavmishra)

  • 0 comments
  • Mon, 26 Aug

Securing Kubernetes secrets with Vault

kameshwara rao marthy (@kameshmarthy)

  • 0 comments
  • Thu, 15 Aug

Istio and Auth0 securing our applications on Kubernetes cluster

Mamta Jha (@mjha)

  • 2 comments
  • Sat, 10 Aug

Challenges faced in the Microservices journey

Mamta Jha (@mjha)

  • 3 comments
  • Thu, 8 Aug

CI/CD pipeline using Ansible, Git, Jenkins and Docker

Mamta Jha (@mjha)

  • 0 comments
  • Thu, 8 Aug

Absynthe: Artificial Behaviour Synthesiser

N. CHATURV3DI (@chaturv3di)

  • 4 comments
  • Tue, 18 Jun

CI/CD in Data Engineering @ Nike Tech

Ramanaresh Challa (@ramanareshchalla)

  • 4 comments
  • Fri, 14 Jun

Service mesh and the future of microservices at scale.

Sudipta Biswas (@sudiwas)

  • 9 comments
  • Sun, 5 May

Data Protection and Compliance - Architecting Privacy in Devops

Ganessh Kumar R P (@ganesshkumar)

  • 5 comments
  • Thu, 18 Apr

Great Expectations : Observability in asynchronous systems using temporal logic

Aditya (@adityabharadwaj)

  • 5 comments
  • Mon, 4 Mar

Capacity modelling for complex data architectures

Mayank Verma (@mayankverma22)

  • 3 comments
  • Fri, 1 Mar

ConProf: Continuous profiling for the rest of us

Goutham Veeramachaneni (@gouthamve)

  • 1 comments
  • Thu, 14 Feb

Config management 2.0

Senthil V S (@siliconsenthil)

  • 1 comments
  • Tue, 22 Jan