Proposals

The Fifth Elephant 2018

The seventh edition of India's best data conference


Submit a session proposal

Submissions are closed for this project

NIMHANS Convention Centre, Bengaluru

Proposal guidelines

None

Submit a session proposal

Submissions are closed for this project

All proposals

Confirmed sessions

Design for Data

Paul Meinshausen (@pmeins)

  • 2 comments
  • Thu, 12 Jul

The power of intuition in data science, and why it will always have a role

Avi Patchava (@avipatch)

  • 18 comments
  • Wed, 04 Jul

Compromising a $6B big data project through poor data quality: the Aadhaar case study

Anand Venkatanarayanan (@anandvenkatanarayanan)

  • 3 comments
  • Mon, 02 Jul

GDPR- The wave of Data Privacy

Aina Rao (nagu rao) (@ainarao)

  • 4 comments
  • Sun, 01 Jul

The right to privacy versus the people's right to know: challenges and the way forward

Sushant Sinha (@sushant354)

  • 3 comments
  • Wed, 27 Jun

Data science for business: adopting analytics without paralysis

Ajay Kelkar

  • 3 comments
  • Wed, 27 Jun

The battle for privacy: right to be forgotten in India

Jyoti Panday (@pandayjyoti)

  • 0 comments
  • Tue, 26 Jun

Weaponizing data for politics

Shivam Shankar Singh (@shivamshankars)

  • 2 comments
  • Wed, 20 Jun

Seeing through the eyes of a self-driving car: visualizing autonomous vehicle data on the web

Xiaoji Chen (@xiaoji)

  • 0 comments
  • Thu, 14 Jun

Michelangelo: Uber's machine learning platform

Achal Shah (@achals)

  • 6 comments
  • Thu, 14 Jun

So you think you know about linear regression ...

Chris Stucchio (@stucchio)

  • 1 comments
  • Mon, 11 Jun

A study in classification

Ramanan Balakrishnan (@ramananbalakrishnan)

  • 5 comments
  • Tue, 29 May

Operating data pipeline using Airflow @ Slack

Ananth Durai (@vananth22)

  • 4 comments
  • Wed, 09 May

Needle in a haystack : entity search on text and graph

Uma Sawant (@umasawant)

  • 1 comments
  • Tue, 01 May

Deep learning based hybrid recommendation systems in TensorFlow

Vijay Srinivas Agneeswaran, Ph.D (@vijayagneeswaran)

  • 10 comments
  • Wed, 25 Apr

Using structural estimation methods from economics to model user behaviour in bike-sharing systems

Ashish Kabra (@akabra)

  • 3 comments
  • Wed, 11 Apr

Our experiments with food recommendations @Swiggy

nitin hardeniya (@noting)

  • 4 comments
  • Sat, 31 Mar

Serviceability under high demand

Venkateshan K (@venky81)

  • 1 comments
  • Sat, 31 Mar

User response prediction at scale

Priyanka Bhatt (@priyanka-bhatt)

  • 3 comments
  • Sat, 31 Mar

Improving product discovery via relevance and ranking optimization

Akash Khandelwal (@akash099)

  • 2 comments
  • Sat, 31 Mar

Scaling write-heavy OLTP systems with strong data guarantees: learning from Flipkart’s user facing order capture systems

Gokulvanan V Velan (Customer Platform - VS)

  • 6 comments
  • Sat, 31 Mar

Segmenting 500 million users using Airflow + Hive

Soumya Shukla (@soumyashukla22)

  • 5 comments
  • Sat, 31 Mar

Building analytics application with streaming expressions in Apache Solr

Amrit Sarkar (@sarkaramrit2)

  • 2 comments
  • Thu, 29 Mar

Building a next generation speech and NLU engine: in pursuit of multi-modal experience for Bixby

Vikram Vij (@vikramvij)

  • 8 comments
  • Wed, 28 Mar

Market propensity modelling using XStream: unified self-service analytics ETL and ML platform

Puneet (@puneetkrojha)

  • 0 comments
  • Tue, 27 Mar

Deep portfolio: using neural networks for portfolio construction

Anant Gupta (@anantguptadbl)

  • 9 comments
  • Tue, 27 Mar

Qubole Sparklens: understanding the scalability limits of Spark applications

Rohit Karlupia (@sixthelephant)

  • 4 comments
  • Mon, 26 Mar

Incremental transform of transactional data models to analytical data models in near real time

Govind Pandey (@govind-pandey)

  • 2 comments
  • Mon, 26 Mar

Improve data quality using Apache Airflow and check operator

Sakshi Bansal (@sakshi28)

  • 4 comments
  • Wed, 21 Mar

Scalability truths and serverless architectures: why it is harder with stateful, data-driven systems

Regunath B

  • 0 comments
  • Wed, 14 Mar

Atlas: GO-JEK’s real-time geospatial visualization platform

Ravi Suhag (@ravisuhag)

  • 3 comments
  • Tue, 20 Feb

Math for data science

Vishal (@vishalgokhale)

  • 0 comments
  • Tue, 30 Jan

Unconfirmed proposals

DIY - Data is Yours

Gaurav Singhania (@gauravsinghania)

  • 0 comments
  • Mon, 25 Jun

NLP on भारतीय भाषाओं

Hitesh Mantrala (@hitman-hittudiv)

  • 0 comments
  • Wed, 23 May

An Introduction to Interactive Data Visualization with Bokeh

Uddipta Bhattacharjee (@uddiptab)

  • 0 comments
  • Sun, 01 Apr

Managing Machine Learning Models in Production

Anand Chitipothu (@anandology)

  • 3 comments
  • Sun, 01 Apr

DevOps for Data Science: Experiences from building a cloud-based data science platform

Anand Chitipothu (@anandology)

  • 3 comments
  • Sun, 01 Apr

Display prospecting using explore-exploit strategy

Akshita Sukhlecha (@akshita-sukhlecha)

  • 1 comments
  • Sat, 31 Mar

A Time Series Analysis of District-wise Government Spending

Gaurav Godhwani (@gggodhwani)

  • 2 comments
  • Sat, 31 Mar

Personalized Recommendations for Computational Advertising

Surabhi Punjabi (@surabhi-punjabi)

  • 0 comments
  • Sat, 31 Mar

Building Streaming platform using Kafka Streams

ADDEPALLI GIRIDHAR (@connect2ppl)

  • 1 comments
  • Sat, 31 Mar

Expressing complex ETL pipelines using Cascading

Neha Kumari (@neha-kumari)

  • 0 comments
  • Sat, 31 Mar

Building big data pipelines on kafka and kubernetes

Abhishek Agarwal (@abhishek-appd)

  • 3 comments
  • Sat, 31 Mar

Approximate Query Processing

DEEPAK GOYAL (@zonker)

  • 1 comments
  • Sat, 31 Mar

Applying Lambda Architecture in Machine Learning realm

Akash Khandelwal (@akash099)

  • 3 comments
  • Sat, 31 Mar

Using Operations Research and Analytics to Propel the E-commerce Industry

Dr Amit Garg (@garg78)

  • 2 comments
  • Sat, 31 Mar

Machine Learning using Orange - It's Fruitful and Fun!

Ankit Mahato (@ankitmahato)

  • 0 comments
  • Fri, 30 Mar

Driving Customer Service Optimization using supervised stack ensemble with natural language features

Tredence Inc (proposing)

  • 4 comments
  • Fri, 30 Mar

Scaling up our distributed query workloads using Kafka Streams + Rocks DB

Ronakkumar Kothari (@ronakkothari)

  • 6 comments
  • Fri, 30 Mar

Smart Campaign Planning Through "Intelligent" Email Outreach Using NLG

Tredence Inc (proposing)

  • 5 comments
  • Fri, 30 Mar

Building Scalable Machine Learning pipelines with Apache Prediction IO

Rajdeep Dua (@rajdeepd)

  • 1 comments
  • Fri, 30 Mar

Bad Data is No Better Than No Data! - Impact of Automation in Data Stewardship Workflows in Plant Agriculture Industry

Karnam Vasudeva Rao (@vasukarnam)

  • 3 comments
  • Fri, 30 Mar

Baking a cloud-native data warehouse from enterprise database leftovers

Vineeti Louis (@vineetilouis)

  • 0 comments
  • Tue, 27 Mar

Distributed Deep Learning

Somya Kumar (@somyak)

  • 4 comments
  • Mon, 26 Mar

What I learnt by running Apache Airflow @Scale

Sreenath S Kamath (@sree92)

  • 1 comments
  • Mon, 26 Mar

Building microservices using kafka

anugrah nayar (@codewalker)

  • 2 comments
  • Fri, 23 Mar

Using Data to make data processing reliable again

devjyoti (@kprotocol)

  • 2 comments
  • Wed, 21 Mar

Hybrid Machine Learning with Azure IoT Edge

SUNIL KUMAR (@sunilkumarjb)

  • 2 comments
  • Tue, 20 Mar

Business analytics on the cloud - a scalable model with R

Praveen Chandrasekharan (@pchandra)

  • 4 comments
  • Sun, 18 Mar

Banker to the unbanked- story of scale leveraging Data Science, AWS, Scala, Spark

Arpit Gupta (@callarpit)

  • 3 comments
  • Fri, 16 Mar

Beyond Data stores & processing engines - Learnings from handling eCommerce Data in motion

Regunath B

  • 0 comments
  • Thu, 15 Mar

Big Data Forensic Analytics

Deepak Mane (@deepak5278)

  • 3 comments
  • Sun, 04 Mar

Complex network analysis using NetworkX - Graph Theory in Python

Himanshu Mishra (@orkohunter-himanshu)

  • 1 comments
  • Thu, 01 Feb

Deep Learning for NLP from scratch

Nishant Nikhil (@nishnik)

  • 0 comments
  • Thu, 01 Feb

Robot Quotient - The Machine versus Human Debate

Puneet Mathur (@puneetmathur)

  • 19 comments
  • Fri, 26 Jan

Machine Learning for Financial Data Extraction

Karthik Gali (@karthikgali)

  • 2 comments
  • Wed, 13 Dec

Topological Data Analysis Theory and Practice

Milan Joshi (@mlnjsh)

  • 16 comments
  • Thu, 17 Aug