Proposals

The Fifth Elephant 2013

An Event on Big Data and Cloud Computing

The Fifth Elephant

The Fifth Elephant is HasGeek’s annual conference on big data and analytics.

M

T

W

T

F

S

S

Jul

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

2013

Nimhans Convention Centre,

Call for proposals

All proposals

Confirmed sessions

Strategic advantages of MongoDB

Edouard Servan-Schreiber (@edouard)

  • 1 comments
  • Thu, 20 Jun

Agility and Innovation vs IT: how new data platforms can overcome this neverending struggle

Edouard Servan-Schreiber (@edouard)

  • 0 comments
  • Thu, 20 Jun

MongoDB: An Overview

Edouard Servan-Schreiber (@edouard)

  • 7 comments
  • Thu, 20 Jun

Data Analysis and Visualization using R

Vinayak Hegde (@vin)

  • 0 comments
  • Wed, 5 Jun

Workshop: Learning ElasticSearch and using it to analyze Aadhaar's Public Datasets

Anurag (@anurag)

  • 0 comments
  • Wed, 5 Jun

15 Billion value at risk computations in 187 milliseconds

Abinasha Karana (@abhinashak)

  • 1 comments
  • Tue, 4 Jun

Finding order in the chaos : machine learning for web text analytics using R

Harshad Saykhedkar (@harshad-saykhedkar)

  • 1 comments
  • Mon, 3 Jun

SolrCloud and NoSQL

Anshum Gupta (@anshum)

  • 2 comments
  • Thu, 23 May

Analytics using Hadoop ecosystem on AWS

Rajat Venkatesh (@vrajat)

  • 0 comments
  • Mon, 20 May

A Billion Snapshots- Principles and Processes in the Census of India

Varsha Joshi (@suraiya95)

  • 1 comments
  • Sat, 18 May

What Happens When Firefox Crashes?

Erik Rose (@erikrose)

  • 1 comments
  • Sat, 18 May

Building large scale Analytics Platform

Prabhu Prakash Ganesh (@pgprabhu)

  • 0 comments
  • Wed, 15 May

Smart Analytics in Smartphones

Satnam Singh, PhD (@satnam74s)

  • 0 comments
  • Sun, 12 May

Evaluating SSD Performance for Databases Handling Real-Time Big Data

brian bulkowski (@bbulkow)

  • 0 comments
  • Fri, 10 May

Neo4j Graph Workshop

Andreas Kollegger (@akollegger)

  • 2 comments
  • Thu, 9 May

Visualising networks

Anand S (@sanand0)

  • 7 comments
  • Thu, 2 May

Interactive analysis of data live, using Pandas, Matplotlib and IPython

Lakshman Prasad (@becomingguru)

  • 3 comments
  • Wed, 1 May

Uncovering patterns and forecasting with time series data

Pranav Modi (@pranavmodi)

  • 0 comments
  • Tue, 30 Apr

Neo4j Graphs: What, When, How

Andreas Kollegger (@akollegger)

  • 8 comments
  • Tue, 30 Apr

Cloud based low cost, low maintenance, scalable data platform

Apoorva Gaurav (@apoorvagaurav)

  • 0 comments
  • Tue, 30 Apr

HOWTO run a hadoop cluster on a laptop

t3rmin4t0r (@t3rmin4t0r)

  • 0 comments
  • Sat, 27 Apr

Workflow Schedulers: The Heart Beat of a Big Data Stack

Rajat Venkatesh (@vrajat)

  • 0 comments
  • Fri, 26 Apr

MapReduce and the "Art of Thinking Parallel"

Shailesh Kumar (@shkumar)

  • 3 comments
  • Tue, 23 Apr

Analyzing Terabytes of Data with Google BigQuery

Chandramouli Mahadevan (@cmouli)

  • 0 comments
  • Sat, 13 Apr

It takes two to tango! - Is SQL-on-Hadoop the next big step?

Srihari Srinivasan (@srihari)

  • 4 comments
  • Fri, 12 Apr

Co-occurrence Analytics: A versatile framework for finding interesting needles in crazy haystacks!

Shailesh Kumar (@shkumar)

  • 2 comments
  • Tue, 9 Apr

Latency and Fault tolerance in OLTP @ 1.5 billion/day service calls

Regunath Balasubramanian (@regunathb)

  • 6 comments
  • Fri, 5 Apr

Julia: A fresh approach to technical computing and data science

Viral B. Shah (@viralbshah)

  • 2 comments
  • Mon, 1 Apr

Big Data, Real-time Processing and Storm

Prashanth Babu (@p7h)

  • 2 comments
  • Thu, 28 Mar

Unlocking the Potential of Data for Everyday Developers and Product Managers

Karthik Kastury (@karthikdot)

  • 2 comments
  • Thu, 28 Mar

Extracting consumer trends in real time using 100 billion tweets.

Pankaj Risbood (@risbood)

  • 2 comments
  • Wed, 27 Mar

Similar entity detection in large data

Arthi Venkataraman (@arthi)

  • 2 comments
  • Tue, 26 Mar

Telling stories with data

Ajay Kelkar

  • 0 comments
  • Fri, 22 Jun

Unconfirmed proposals

Telling visual stories with data

Amit Kapoor (@amitkaps)

  • 1 comments
  • Wed, 5 Jun

How to build a Recommender using Apache Mahout

Viraj Paripatyadar (@virajparipatyadar)

  • 3 comments
  • Wed, 5 Jun

A hands-on introduction to Apache Hadoop

Mrinal Wadhwa (@mrinal)

  • 0 comments
  • Wed, 5 Jun

Audience Segmentation: Data-Science, Big-Data Architecture & Solution

prabhakar srinivasan (@prabhacar7)

  • 0 comments
  • Wed, 5 Jun

The art and science of exploiting near-similar text and images

Srinivasan H Sengamedu (@shs)

  • 0 comments
  • Wed, 5 Jun

Can big data fight poverty and corruption?

Ankur Nagar (@ankurnagar)

  • 0 comments
  • Tue, 4 Jun

Riding a kneeling elephant: Community Informatics Bridging Data Into Communities

michael gurstein (@michaelgurstein)

  • 0 comments
  • Tue, 4 Jun

Tracking 2B parameters/month in real time - with just MySQL!

Nikil Doshi (@nikildoshi)

  • 0 comments
  • Tue, 4 Jun

Implementing Named-Entity-Recognizer on Twitter Data and Using it to Cluster Similar Tweets.

Abhishek Vaid (@vaidabhishek)

  • 0 comments
  • Tue, 4 Jun

Telling Twins Apart: A Cookie's Life And Other Stories From The Ad World

Rahul Kulkarni (@rahul10100)

  • 0 comments
  • Mon, 3 Jun

Advanced data analysis with Excel

Anand S (@sanand0)

  • 0 comments
  • Mon, 3 Jun

What did we gain out of using Mongodb, Redis and Mysql in a single system

Tapomay Dey (@tapomay)

  • 0 comments
  • Mon, 3 Jun

Build Products, Not Just Algorithms: 10 Examples from the Real World

Rahul Kulkarni (@rahul10100)

  • 1 comments
  • Mon, 3 Jun

Using ElasticSearch to build your Startup's Dashboard - Pros and Cons

Shashi Shekhar Singh (@singhshashi)

  • 0 comments
  • Sun, 2 Jun

RHadoop: Marrying analytics & large scale data processing

Anand (@anandk)

  • 0 comments
  • Sun, 2 Jun

Need for “Lmetric” : the service for near real-time clickstream events and User behavior analysis

Piyush (@piykumar)

  • 0 comments
  • Thu, 30 May

Making Sense of content in domain intense QA/Discussion Forums- A Text Mining Problem

Pramod N Haritsa (@machinelearner)

  • 2 comments
  • Wed, 29 May

Data and Sales

Sushrut Bidwai (@sushrutbidwai)

  • 0 comments
  • Mon, 27 May

Introduction to Pivotal HD - Hadoop distribution with a SQL compliant query engine

rajdeep dua (@rajdeepdua)

  • 2 comments
  • Mon, 27 May

Infrastructures and eco-systems for open data

Tim Davies (@timdavies)

  • 0 comments
  • Fri, 24 May

Linked Data - visions & implementations

Tim Davies (@timdavies)

  • 0 comments
  • Fri, 24 May

Rnotify - A Scalable Application Level Distributed Filesystem Notifications Solution

Ashwin Raghav Mohan Ganesh (@ashwinraghav)

  • 0 comments
  • Thu, 23 May

Real time analytics on data that spans 100s of GBs

Kaushik Paranjape (@kaushik-paranjape)

  • 0 comments
  • Thu, 23 May

Grooming Geeks - Analytics & Application in Education

Dr.S.Jayaprakash,Ph.D (@drjayaprakash)

  • 0 comments
  • Wed, 22 May

Insurance Fraud Modeling & Business Intelligence Framework

Dr.S.Jayaprakash,Ph.D (@drjayaprakash)

  • 2 comments
  • Tue, 21 May

Streaming live-data to LCD screens in office (using opensource tools and Rs. 4300)

Mahesh Tiyyagura (@tmahesh)

  • 0 comments
  • Sun, 19 May

Product Demo: Analyze & Visualize Big Data right off the grid

Rohit Chatter (@rohitchattar)

  • 0 comments
  • Sun, 19 May

Evaluate audience live use cases and Big Data Technology solutions

Rohit Chatter (@rohitchattar)

  • 0 comments
  • Sun, 19 May

Analytics: Make non-additive metrics additive using HBase & Bitmaps

Rohit Chatter (@rohitchattar)

  • 0 comments
  • Sun, 19 May

Find Near Duplicate records in your Data

Mahesh Tiyyagura (@tmahesh)

  • 0 comments
  • Sat, 18 May

Open Data Aero - An opportunity for the Airline Industry

Adethya Sudarsanan

  • 0 comments
  • Thu, 16 May

An introduction to Hue, the open source Hadoop UI

Enrico Berti (@enricoberti)

  • 0 comments
  • Wed, 15 May

Demystifying Big Data from Domain Name industry

Ramesh Kumar M (@mrameshk)

  • 0 comments
  • Wed, 15 May

Big Data Enlightenment

Peter Milne (@helipilot50)

  • 0 comments
  • Mon, 13 May

Predictive Analytics in Social Media and Online Display Advertising

Mahesh Kumar (@tiger007)

  • 0 comments
  • Fri, 10 May

Analysis of genomics data and linking to phenotype of country population to identify health markers

Harpreet Singh (@hsingh1979)

  • 0 comments
  • Fri, 10 May

Customizing One Database for Your Multiple Data Structures

Russell Sullivan (@jaksprats)

  • 0 comments
  • Fri, 10 May

Why we went 100% NoSQL with Mongodb?

Rajan Chandi (@qlazzy)

  • 0 comments
  • Wed, 8 May

Can twitter kill Boeing 787 ?

Swaroop Krothapalli (@swaroop)

  • 0 comments
  • Fri, 3 May

The database cannot be better than the underlying datastructure

Abhishek Kona (@sheki)

  • 0 comments
  • Wed, 1 May

What is Multi-Stream Retrieval?

Bharath Mohan (@bharathmohan)

  • 0 comments
  • Tue, 30 Apr

Low Latency Access of Bigdata using Spark and Shark.

Pradeep Kumar G.S. (@pradeep2002gs)

  • 2 comments
  • Mon, 29 Apr

Open Source Business Intelligence - Pentaho BI Suite

Ramana Reddy (@ramanareddyg)

  • 0 comments
  • Thu, 25 Apr

7 Ways to call elections using data

Karthik Shashidhar (@karthiks)

  • 1 comments
  • Wed, 24 Apr

Big Data Analytics with R

Neeta Pande (@neetapande)

  • 1 comments
  • Tue, 23 Apr

Apache Cassandra for Fun and Profit

Aaron Morton (@amorton)

  • 1 comments
  • Sun, 21 Apr

Breaking Barriers - Showing the funny

Koushik (@cosec)

  • 2 comments
  • Wed, 17 Apr

Building a high performance distributed crawler

Sandeep Ravichandran (@sandeepr)

  • 2 comments
  • Mon, 15 Apr

Build a Queue Based Concurrent Task Processor (using Python)

Piyush Verma (@meson10)

  • 4 comments
  • Sat, 13 Apr

Reporting Using MySQL Multi-Source Replication

Vishnu H Rao (@vishnuhr)

  • 0 comments
  • Fri, 12 Apr

MySQL Robbins - Various Flavors of Files & Buffers it Uses

Vishnu H Rao (@vishnuhr)

  • 0 comments
  • Fri, 12 Apr

Deciphering the organizational DNA - mining internal data

Ritesh Nayak (@itsmeritesh)

  • 1 comments
  • Tue, 9 Apr

Big Data is it a fad or future?

Raghu Kashyap (@ragskashyap1)

  • 4 comments
  • Mon, 8 Apr

Big Data Predictive Analysis in SAP HANA with SAP Predictive Analysis

Vishwanath Belur (@vishihosmane)

  • 4 comments
  • Wed, 3 Apr

Big Data Product Ideas - Building Interactive BI Analytics

Sirish M Simha (@foxcat)

  • 1 comments
  • Wed, 3 Apr

Big Data at the Base of the Pyramid

Sameer Segal (@sameersegal)

  • 4 comments
  • Wed, 3 Apr

Build A Cloud With Apache CloudStack For Big Data

Shanker Balan (@shankerbalan)

  • 2 comments
  • Fri, 29 Mar

Uncovering the truth in sales through Visualization

Y (@yravi)

  • 1 comments
  • Fri, 29 Mar

Transferring Gigabytes of Data to cloud at 10mbps on your 10mbps link

Mayank Sharma (@mayanks)

  • 0 comments
  • Tue, 26 Mar

A 360 degree view of 3-D printing

Kashyap Kompella (@kashkompella)

  • 1 comments
  • Tue, 26 Mar

Implementing a Large Scale Surveillance System Using Big Data

prakash babu (@prakashbob75)

  • 2 comments
  • Tue, 26 Mar

Big Data Analytics for improving Patient Care systems at hospitals

Mahesh Rangarajan (@maheshrangarajan)

  • 1 comments
  • Tue, 26 Mar

Money Talks: Analyzing Financial Market Data

Deepak Shenoy (@deepakshenoy)

  • 2 comments
  • Tue, 26 Mar

Building Location Aware Applications using MongoDB

Shekhar Gulati (@shekhargulati)

  • 0 comments
  • Thu, 21 Mar

Building a massively multiplayer online role-playing game (MMORPG) using Cloud

Supreeth Srinivasamurthy (@supreeth) (proposing)

  • 0 comments
  • Tue, 19 Mar